All registered or operated vehicles must be covered by liability insurance. The Minimum amounts of liability coverage required by the state of Alaska are $50,000/$100,000 for injury/death and $25,000 for property damage. Commonly referred to as 50/100/25 coverage.
In Alaska their are many areas that are exempt from mandatory insurance laws. A listing of those areas can be found: Here.
You are required to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle. In the Municipality of Anchorage your vehicle may be impounded if you can not present proof of insurance. In the event your vehicle has been impounded, you must contact the Anchorage Police Department for instructions on retrieving your vehicle.
The list below constitute legal proof of insurance:
This state enlists a point system to monitor and penalize driving infractions. If a driver is convicted of traffic law violations, the driver will gain points on their drivers license. If those points reach a state specified amount, their license will be suspended for a predetermined period based on the amount of points gained. After two years time, a traffic conviction loses its‘ point value for suspension purposes, however it will stay on your permanent driving record and may effect your insurance rates.
The state of Alaska does not allow drivers on a point revocation to apply for a hardship license. The revocation period determined by the courts is final and must be served in full before any reinstating process can begin.
In the state of Alaska reckless driving is a criminal offense. It can result in jail time, as well as immediate revocation/suspension of the driver’s license.
AutoCricket.com is in no way offering legal advice to consumers. Although we update our information regularly, and attempt to be as accurate as possible, state laws may change and we are not liable for any misinformation resulting in legal action or otherwise.