Connecticut Auto Insurance

divider
State Insurance Requirements

All registered or operated vehicles must be covered by liability insurance. The Minimum amount of liability coverage required by the state of Connecticut is $20,000 for injury, $40,000 for all injuries, and $10,000 in property damage. Commonly referred to as 20/40/10 coverage.

You are required to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle.

The list below constitute legal proof of insurance:

  • Permanent Insurance Card
  • Policy Declaration Page
In the state of Connecticut, failure to maintain proper liability insurance can result in a $200 penalty, and the suspension of your vehicle registration. They may also suspend your license from 30 days up to 6 months.
DMV Point System

This state enlists a point system to monitor and penalize driving infractions. If a driver is convicted of traffic law violations, the driver will gain points on their drivers license. If those points reach a state specified amount, their license will be suspended for a predetermined period based on the amount of points gained. After two years time, a traffic conviction loses its‘ point value for suspension purposes. However, it will stay on your permanent driving record and may effect your insurance rates.

Connecticut is one of the toughest states on traffic violations. In fact, they INVENTED the world’s first DMV point system in 1947. Your license may be suspended in Connecticut for a large number of reasons. First we will asses point per violation and point related license suspensions.
Below is a list of violations and their corresponding point values:

1 point violations:

  • Operating at unreasonable rate of speed
  • Speeding
  • Failure to drive in right-hand lane
  • Illegal use of limited access highway by bus, commercial
    vehicle or vehicle with trailer
  • Improper operation on multiple-lane highways
  • Improper operation on divided highway
  • Wrong direction at rotary or one-way street
  • Improper turn, illegal turn, illegal stopping, failure to signal intention to turn
  • Improper backing or starting
  • Failure to give proper signal
  • Operator’s duties on stopping a school bus
  • Operation of motorcycles abreast, illegal passing
  • Wrong way on one-way street

2 point violations:

  • Slow speed, impeding traffic
  • Disobeying orders of officer
  • Entering or leaving controlled access highway at other than
    designated entrance or exit
  • Entry upon a limited access highway other than a highway
    intersection or designated point
  • Executing turn from wrong lane or contrary to traffic control devices
  • Failure to obey signal at railroad crossing
  • Failure to stop at railroad crossing by school bus, commercial motor vehicle carrying flammable or explosive substance, taxicab, motor vehicle in livery service, motor bus, motor vehicle used for the transportation of school children
  • Failure to observe parkway or expressway restrictions
  • Failure to obey traffic control signal light
  • Failure to obey stop sign
  • Failure to obey yield sign
  • Operating a vehicle through pedestrian safety zone

3 point violations:

  • Driving while impaired
  • Failure to keep to right when meeting opposing traffic
  • Improper passing or failure to yield to passing vehicle
  • Passing on right
  • Passing in no passing zone
  • Failure to keep to right on curve, grade or when approaching intersection
  • Failure to drive reasonable distance apart
  • Failure to grant right of way at intersection
  • Failure to grant right of way at junction of highways
  • Failure to yield when emerging from driveway or private road
  • Failure to grant right of way when emerging from alley, driveway or building
  • Failure to grant right of way to ambulance, police or fire apparatusFailure to grant right of way to pedestrian

4 point violations:

  • Wagering, speed record
  • Failure to drive reasonable distance, intent to harass
  • Passing stopped school bus

5 point violations:

  • Operation of school bus at excessive speed
  • Negligent Homicide with a motor vehicle
Point accumulated suspensions are on a ten point basis. The first 10 points will have your license suspended for 30 days. An additional 10 points on your record will suspend your license for a determined period, based on violations, for up to 2 years.

Connecticut will suspend your license instantly for the following infractions:

  • Reckless Driving: 30-90 days suspension
  • Driving while on a suspended license: 1-5 years suspension
  • Evading Responsibility: 1-5 years
  • False statements or reports: 6 months – 1 year suspension
  • Inadequate Insurance Coverage: 30 days – 6 month suspension
  • Purchasing or possession of alcohol by a minor: 150 days suspension
  • Improper use of marker, registration, or license: 30 days – 1 year suspension
  • Failure to fully stop when signaled: 1 year – 18 months suspension
  • Racing: 60 days – 6 months suspension
  • assault/manslaughter (second degree): 1 year suspension
  • Using vehicle without owners permission: 1 year suspension
  • Interfering with a vehicle: 30 days – 1 year suspension

In addition to the items listed, you may have your license suspended for unpaid parking tickets(in or out of state), unpaid property taxes, and unpaid DMV fees due to bounced checks. Failure to attend required traffic school, and medical conditions are also factors that may cause your license to be suspended.

Disclaimer

AutoCricket.com is in no way offering legal advice to consumers. Although we update our information regularly, and attempt to be as accurate as possible, state laws may change and we are not liable for any misinformation resulting in legal action or otherwise.

forbes palm beach post yahoo! npib yef