All registered or operated vehicles must be covered by $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL).
Florida is considered a No Fault state.
You are required to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle.
The list below constitute legal proof of insurance:
This state enlists a point system to monitor and penalize driving infractions. If a driver is convicted of traffic law violations, the driver will gain points on their drivers license. If those points reach a state specified amount, their license will be suspended for a predetermined period based on the amount of points gained.
The state of Florida also has a penalty for drivers considered Habitual Traffic Offenders ( HTO )
The penalty for an HTO is a minimum of 5 years suspension, with the possibility to file for a hardship license after a period of no less than 1 year.
A driver is considered HTO if…
Convicted three times within a five year period for any combination of the following offenses:
15 moving violations in which the driver gained points within a 5 year period.
In addition, any out of state violations will be counted towards HTO status in florida.
If you are convicted of driving with a license suspended under the HTO law, you will face a 3rd degree felony charge, the result of which may include 5 years in prison and/or a $5,000 fine.
AutoCricket.com is in no way offering legal advice to consumers. Although we update our information regularly, and attempt to be as accurate as possible, state laws may change and we are not liable for any misinformation resulting in legal action or otherwise.