All registered or operated vehicles must be covered by liability insurance. Minimum coverages for the state of Hawaii are $20,000 for injury, $40,000 for all injuries, and $10,000 in property damage. Commonly referred to as 20/40/10 coverage. In addition, $10,000 personal injury protection(PIP) is required as Hawaii is a “No-Fault State”.
You are required to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle.
The list below constitute legal proof of insurance:
This state does not enlist a point system for monitoring or penalizing traffic violations. However, your driving record is still maintained and made available to employers and insurance companies. Habitual traffic violations may still increase your insurance rates.
Hawaii traffic violations are often penalized with fines. There are still offenses that are considered criminal, or could have your license suspended. The least tolerated offense being DWI/DUI.
The state of Hawaii enforces a three strikes policy in regards to drunk/intoxicated driving. The first offense will suspend your driver’s license for a period of up to 1 year. The second offense will be a longer suspension, and the third and final time your license will be revoked for a period of 5 years.
Some other offenses that may automatically suspend your license in Hawaii:
AutoCricket.com is in no way offering legal advice to consumers. Although we update our information regularly, and attempt to be as accurate as possible, state laws may change and we are not liable for any misinformation resulting in legal action or otherwise.