All registered or operated vehicles must be covered by liability insurance. The Minimum amount of liability coverage required by the state of Illinois is $20,000 for injury, $40,000 for all injuries, and $15,000 in property damage. Commonly referred to as 20/40/15 coverage.
You are required to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle.
The list below constitute legal proof of insurance:
This state enlists a point system to monitor and penalize driving infractions. If a driver is convicted of traffic law violations, the driver will gain points on their drivers license. If those points reach a state specified amount, their license will be suspended for a predetermined period based on the amount of points gained.
The point totals and duration of suspension for first offenders are listed below:
If a driver has had their license suspended in the past seven years prior to the current suspension, the length of the suspension period may be doubled.
There are many offenses in Illinois that can cause your license to be suspended automatically. We strongly suggest that you review Title 92, by clicking the additional resource link below, for an in depth evaluation.
AutoCricket.com is in no way offering legal advice to consumers. Although we update our information regularly, and attempt to be as accurate as possible, state laws may change and we are not liable for any misinformation resulting in legal action or otherwise.