Indiana Auto Insurance

divider
State Insurance Requirements

All registered or operated vehicles must be covered by liability insurance. The Minimum amount of liability coverage required by the state of Indiana is $25,000 for injury, $50,000 for all injury, and $10,000 in property damage. Commonly referred to as 25/50/10 coverage.

Your insurance company must electronically provide proof of insurance to the BMV for the motor vehicle involved in any of the following situations:

  • Accident resulting in over $1000 in property damage, injury, or death.
  • On the third traffic violation within a 1 year period.
  • Serious traffic violations that result in misdemeanor or felony charges.
  • Any traffic violation by a driver that was previously suspended for failing to provide proof of insurance.
It is the Driver’s responsibility, after receiving a request via mail, to arrange for their insurance provider to complete a Certificate of Compliance proving that the vehicle was insured at the time of incident. The certificate must be sent electronically to the BMV within 45 days of notice. Failure to do so will result in a license suspension.

Driving without proper liability insurance results in a 90 day suspension for first offenders. Any subsequent offense within 3 years will incur an additional 1 year suspension to be served concurrently with the most recent suspension.

DMV Point System

This state enlists a point system to monitor and penalize driving infractions. If a driver is convicted of traffic law violations, the driver will gain points on their drivers license. If those points reach a state specified amount, their license will be suspended for a predetermined period based on the amount of points gained. After two years time, a traffic conviction loses its‘ point value for suspension purposes. However, it will stay on your permanent driving record and may effect your insurance rates.

Below is a list of violations and their corresponding point values:

SPEEDING TICKETS

  • 1-15 mph over – 2 points
  • 16-25 mph over – 4 points
  • 26+ mph over – 6 points
  • Additional Violations/Infractions

  • Failure to use headlights – 2 points
  • No brake or signal lights – 2 points
  • Improper motorcycle headgear – 4 points
  • Improper motorcycle passenger – 4 points
  • Improper U-turn – 4 points
  • 
Unsafe lane movement – 4 points

  • Disregarding a stop sign or yield sign – 6 points
  • Failure to yield to another vehicle – 6 points
  • Following another vehicle too closely – 6 points

  • Driving while suspended – 8 points

  • Failure to yield to an emergency vehicle – 8 points
  • Speed contest on road – 8 points
Drivers who accumulate 18 or more points within a 2 year period must attend an administrative hearing.

An administrative law judge will make a determination that may include any of the following penalties:

  • Up to 1 year suspension
  • Up to 1 year probation
  • Any combination of suspension and probation totaling 1 year.

There are some offenses that automatically suspend your license regardless of points gained. They are as follows:

  • DUI/DWI
  • Failure to pay child support
  • Write a bad check to the BMV
  • Driving while suspended
  • Failure to appear / pay fines
  • Driving without proper insurance
  • Failure to provide proof of insurance upon request

In addition, Indiana has a Habitual Traffic Violator (HTV) law. The HTV law provides serious penalties for repeat offenders over a ten year period. Indiana has defined the criteria used to classify an HTV.

You are considered a Habitual Traffic Violator if you are convicted of any of the following within a ten year period:

  • Two major offenses resulting in injury or death (10 year suspension)
  • Three major offenses (10 year suspension)
  • Nine moving violations and one major offense (5 year suspension)

* If you are convicted of a DUI resulting in death 2 times in 10 years, your license will be revoked for life.

Be aware that out of state violations are counted towards your indiana driving records for purposes of HTV classification. (example: 9 speeding tickets in indiana, 1 DUI in alabama = HTV)

If a driver is convicted of operating a vehicle while on suspension for HTV, the driver will be suspended for a court determined period, up to lifetime forfeiture.

Disclaimer

AutoCricket.com is in no way offering legal advice to consumers. Although we update our information regularly, and attempt to be as accurate as possible, state laws may change and we are not liable for any misinformation resulting in legal action or otherwise.

forbes palm beach post yahoo! npib yef