Iowa Auto Insurance

State Insurance Requirements

Iowa does not have a mandatory insurance law. The Financial and Safety Responsibility Act is your only means of protection from the financially unsound and reckless driver.

If you are an Iowa driver the best way to protect yourself and your vehicle is to have uninsured motorist insurance in addition to liability coverage.

DMV Point System

This state does not enlist a point system for monitoring or penalizing traffic violations. However, your driving record is still maintained and made available to employers and insurance companies. Habitual traffic violations may still increase your insurance rates.

Although Iowa does not have a standard point system for moving violations, it does employ a Habitual Offender point system.

A driver is considered a habitual offender if:

  • Convicted of 3 major violations in a 6 year period
  • Convicted of 6 moving violations in a 2 year period ( 1 year suspension )
  • The point system for 3 major violations in 6 years is as follows:

  • Perjury under oath to the Department of Public Safety – 2 points
  • Driving while under suspension, revocation, or denial – 2 points
  • Driving while under an alcohol or drug-related revocation – 3 points
  • Driving while barred – 4 points
  • DUI – 4 points
  • An offense punishable as a felony under motor vehicle laws or any felony in 
which a motor vehicle was used – 5 points
  • Failure to stop and leave information or render aid at an accident site – 5 points
  • Eluding or attempting to elude law enforcement – 5 points
  • Serious injury caused by the operation of a motor vehicle – 5 points
  • Manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle – 6 points
Drivers who accumulate 18 or more points within a 2 year period must attend an administrative hearing.

Resulting duration of Barring

  • 6-7 points = 2 years
  • 8-9 points = 3 years
  • 10-12 points = 4 years
  • 13-15 points = 5 years
  • 16+ points = 6 years

If a driver is caught operating a vehicle while barred, they face up to two years in prison.

The state of Iowa has Mandatory Revocations for the following offenses:

  • Manslaughter resulting from driving a motor vehicle
  • Using a motor vehicle when committing a felony
  • Failure to stop and give aid at the scene of a personal injury or fatal accident in which you were involved
  • Lying about the registration or operation of a motor vehicle
  • Eluding or trying to elude a marked law enforcement vehicle driven by a uniformed peace officer after being signaled with lights or a siren to stop, and while doing that, going over the speed limit by 25 mph or more
  • Driving a motor vehicle under the influence of an alcoholic beverage or other drug or a combination of such substances
  • Refusing to take a chemical test when requested by a peace officer;
  • Having an alcohol concentration of .08 or more (.02 or more if under age 21) in a chemical test
  • A second conviction for reckless driving
  • Drag racing
  • Conviction of an Iowa resident in a court in Iowa, or in another state or federal court, of certain drug related offenses
  • Conviction, or juvenile court action, for drug/drug-related violations.

Disclaimer is in no way offering legal advice to consumers. Although we update our information regularly, and attempt to be as accurate as possible, state laws may change and we are not liable for any misinformation resulting in legal action or otherwise.

forbes palm beach post yahoo! npib yef