State Insurance Requirements
All registered or operated vehicles must be covered by liability insurance. Minimum coverages for the state of Maryland are $30,000 personal injury, $60,000 for all injury and $15,000 in property damage. Commonly referred to as 30/60/15 coverage.
You are required to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle.
The list below constitute legal proof of insurance:
- A temporary insurance card issued by the insurer.
- A premium receipt or insurance binder issued by the motorist’s insurance agent.
- The current declarations page of a liability insurance policy.
- The actual liability insurance policy issued for the vehicle.
- A certificate of liability insurance policy issued by either the insurer or an authorized agent.
- A copy of the rental agreement when renting a motor vehicle which specifies the insurance coverage
Failure to produce proof of insurance at the scene of an accident or during a traffic stop can result in license suspension and fines. Vehicle owners are required to show proof of insurance to the MVA upon request. For these purposes only an FR-19 ( Maryland Insurance Certificate) is acceptable.
DMV Point System
This state enlists a point system to monitor and penalize driving infractions. If a driver is convicted of traffic law violations, the driver will gain points on their drivers license. If those points reach a state specified amount, their license will be suspended for a predetermined period based on the amount of points gained. After two years time, a traffic conviction loses its‘ point value for suspension purposes. However, it will stay on your permanent driving record and may effect your insurance rates.
Below are SOME EXAMPLES of violations and their corresponding point values:
- 9 mph over – 1 point
- 10 mph over – 2 points
- 20 mph over – 5 points
- Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs – 12 points
- Driving while impaired by alcohol or drugs – 12 points
- Unlawful use of your driver’s license – 12 points
- Loaning or borrowing a driver’s license – 12 points
- Driving without a license – 5 points
- Speed contests – 5 points
- Driving alone with a permit – 5 points
- Driving without proof of insurance – 5 points
- Reckless driving – 6 points
- Driving with a suspended license – 3 points
- Failure to stop at a red light – 2 points
- Failure to stop for a school bus – 2 points
- Improper turn – 1 point
- Clicking off your lights to evade identification – 8 points
- Failure to yield – 1 point
A complete list of violations and their respective point totals can be viewed here.
In the state of Maryland, acquiring between 8-11 points within two years will cause a license to be suspended. 12 or more points will cause the license to be revoked.
Maryland offers the option to hold a hearing for a driver that wishes to show cause of why the license should not be suspended. Otherwise a driver with a suspended license MUST turn in their last issued license to the MVA, or suffer additional suspension. One day per day past the license turn in date on the notice results in one additional day suspended.
AutoCricket.com is in no way offering legal advice to consumers. Although we update our information regularly, and attempt to be as accurate as possible, state laws may change and we are not liable for any misinformation resulting in legal action or otherwise.