State Insurance Requirements
All registered or operated vehicles must be covered by liability insurance. The Minimum amount of liability coverage required by the state of Montana is $25,000 for injury, $50,000 for all injuries, and $10,000 in property damage. Commonly referred to as 25/50/10 coverage.
You are required to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle.
The list below constitute legal proof of insurance:
- A temporary insurance card issued by the insurer
- Permanent Insurance Card
In the state of Montana it is considered a misdemeanor to drive without proper insurance coverage. If a driver is caught driving without proper insurance coverage they will be fined $250-$500 or even jailed for up to 10 days.
A second offense of driving without proper coverage results in a minimum fine of $350, or up to 10 days in jail, as well as a 90 day suspension.
DMV Point System
This state enlists a point system to monitor and penalize driving infractions. If a driver is convicted of traffic law violations, the driver will gain points on their drivers license. If those points reach a total of 30 within a 3 year period, the driver’s license will be revoked for 3 years.
Below is a list of violations and their respective point totals:
- Deliberate Homicide – 15 points
- Negligent Homicide – 12 points
- Negligent Vehicular Assault – 12 points
- Driving Under the Influence (DUI) – 10 points
- Felonies (vehicular): 12 points
- Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .10 or higher – 10 points
- Driving while Suspended or Revoked – 6 points
- Reckless Driving – 5 points
- Drag Racing – 5 points
- Insurance Violations – 4 points
- Speeding – 3 points
- No Driver’s License – 2 points
- Other Moving Violations – 2 points
AutoCricket.com is in no way offering legal advice to consumers. Although we update our information regularly, and attempt to be as accurate as possible, state laws may change and we are not liable for any misinformation resulting in legal action or otherwise.