New Jersey Auto Insurance

divider
State Insurance Requirements

All registered or operated vehicles must be covered by liability insurance. Minimum coverages for the state of New Jersey are $15,000 personal injury, $30,000 for all injury and $5,000 in property damage. Commonly referred to as 15/30/5 coverage.

You are required to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle.

The list below constitute legal proof of insurance:

  • A temporary insurance card issued by the insurer
  • Permanent Insurance Card
  • Policy Declaration Page
  • The actual liability insurance policy issued for the vehicle
  • A certificate of liability insurance policy issued by either the insurer or an authorized agent
  • A copy of the rental agreement when renting a motor vehicle which specifies the insurance coverage
DMV Point System

This state enlists a point system to monitor and penalize driving infractions. If a driver is convicted of traffic law violations, the driver will gain points on their drivers license. If those points reach a state specified amount, their license will be suspended for a predetermined period based on the amount of points gained.

Below is a list of violations and their corresponding point values:

  • Moving against traffic – 2 points
  • Improper passing – 4 points
  • Operating constructor vehicle in excess of 45 mph – 3 points
  • Operating motorized bicycle on a restricted highway – 2 points
  • More than one person on a motorized bicycle – 2 points
  • Failure to yield to pedestrian in crosswalk – 2 points
  • Failure to yield to pedestrian in crosswalk; passing a vehicle yielding to pedestrian in crosswalk – 2 points
  • Driving through safety zone – 2 points
  • Racing on highway – 5 points
  • Improper action or omission on grades and curves – 2 points
  • Failure to observe direction of officer – 2 points
  • Failure to stop vehicle before crossing sidewalk – 2 points
  • Failure to yield to pedestrians or vehicles while entering or leaving highway – 2 points
  • Driving on public or private property to avoid a traffic sign or signal – 2 points
  • Operating a motor vehicle on a sidewalk – 2 points
  • Failure to obey direction of officer – 2 points
  • Failure to observe traffic signals* (Red Light Camera- 0 pts.) – 2 points
  • *No points assessed for red light camera violation

  • Failure to keep right – 2 points
  • Improper operating of vehicle on divided highway or divider – 2 points
  • Failure to keep right at intersection – 2 points
  • Failure to pass to right of vehicle proceeding in opposite direction – 5 points
  • Improper passing on right or off roadway – 4 points
  • Wrong way on a one-way street – 2 points
  • Improper passing in no passing zone – 4 points
  • Failure to yield to overtaking vehicle – 2 points
  • Failure to observe traffic lanes – 2 points
  • Tailgating – 5 points
  • Failure to yield at intersection – 2 points
  • Failure to use proper entrances to limited access highways – 2 points
  • Failure to yield to emergency vehicles – 2 points
  • Reckless driving – 5 points
  • Careless driving – 2 points
  • Destruction of agricultural or recreational property – 2 points
  • Slow speed blocking traffic – 2 points
  • Driving in an unsafe manner – 4 points
    (points only for third or subsequent offense within five years of most recent conviction)
  • Exceeding maximum speed 1-14 mph over limit – 2 points
  • Exceeding maximum speed 15-29 mph over limit – 4 points
  • Exceeding maximum speed 30 mph or more over limit – 5 points
  • Failure to stop for traffic light – 2 points
  • Improper turn at traffic light – 3 points
  • Failure to stop at flashing red signal – 2 points
  • Failure to stop for police whistle – 2 points
  • Improper right or left turn – 3 points
  • Improper turn from approved turning course – 3 points
  • Improper u-turn – 3 points
  • Failure to give proper signal – 2 points
  • Improper backing or turning in street – 2 points
  • Improper crossing of railroad grade crossing – 2 points
  • Improper crossing of bridge – 2 points
  • Improper crossing of railroad grade crossing by certain vehicles – 2 points
  • Improper passing of school bus – 5 points
  • Improper passing of frozen dessert truck – 4 points
  • Leaving the scene of an accident
    no personal injury – 2 points
    Personal injury – 8 points
  • Failure to observe stop or yield signs – 2 points
  • Racing on highway – 5 points
  • Moving violation committed out-of-state – 2 points
If a driver gains 12 or more points on their license at any one time, it will be suspended.
In addition, if a driver gains 6 points within 3 years, they will be required to pay a surcharge.

Disclaimer

AutoCricket.com is in no way offering legal advice to consumers. Although we update our information regularly, and attempt to be as accurate as possible, state laws may change and we are not liable for any misinformation resulting in legal action or otherwise.

forbes palm beach post yahoo! npib yef