State Insurance Requirements
All registered or operated vehicles must be covered by liability insurance. The Minimum amount of liability coverage required by the state of New York is $25,000 for injury, $50,000 for all injuries, and $10,000 in property damage. Commonly referred to as 25/50/10 coverage.
You are required to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle.
The list below constitute legal proof of insurance:
- A temporary insurance card issued by the insurer
- Permanent Insurance Card
Out of state coverage is not acceptable insurance for driving in New York. If your vehicle is registered in New York and you move out of state, it must remain insured by NYS liability coverage.
The NYSDMV has many charges and penalties associated with a lapse in coverage, including fines, fees, and suspension of registration and driver’s license. We strongly suggest you visit the link below for an in depth evaluation of insurance lapse penalties.
DMV Point System
This state enlists a point system to monitor and penalize driving infractions. If a driver is convicted of traffic law violations, the driver will gain points on their drivers license. If those points reach a state specified amount, their license will be suspended for a predetermined period based on the amount of points gained.
Below is a list of violations and their corresponding point values:
- 1-10 mph over – 3 points
- 11-20 mph over – 4 points
- 21-30 mph over – 6 points
- 31-40 mph over – 8 points
- 40+ mph over – 11 points
- Following too closely 4 points
- Passing improperly, changing lanes unsafely, driving to the left of center, driving in the wrong direction – 3 points
- Failed to obey a traffic signal, a Stop sign, or a Yield sign – 3 points
- Railroad crossing violation 3 points
- Failed to yield the right-of-way 3 points
- Passenger safety violation, including seat belt and child safety seat violations for passengers under 16 years old – 3 points
- Reckless driving – 5 points
- Left the scene of an accident that includes property damage or the injury of a domestic animal – 3 points
- Failed to stop for a school bus – 5 points
- Other moving violations – 2 points
- Inadequate brakes – 4 points
- Inadequate brakes (vehicle of an employer) – 2 points
- Improper cell phone use – 3 points
- Use of portable electronic device (“texting”) – 3 points
If a driver’s point total reaches 11 and each violation is within 18 months of one another, their license will become suspended.
AutoCricket.com is in no way offering legal advice to consumers. Although we update our information regularly, and attempt to be as accurate as possible, state laws may change and we are not liable for any misinformation resulting in legal action or otherwise.