North Carolina Auto Insurance

State Insurance Requirements

All registered or operated vehicles must be covered by liability insurance. The Minimum amounts of liability coverage required by the state of North Carolina are $30,000/$60,000 for injury/death and $25,000 for property damage. Commonly referred to as 30/60/25 coverage.

Effective July 1, 2008, civil penalties assessed for a lapse in liability insurance are based on the number of prior lapses you have had on your vehicle within three years of the current lapse. If this is your first lapse, your civil penalty will be $50.00. If this is your second lapse, your civil penalty will be $100.00. If you have more than two lapses, your civil penalty will be $150.00.
DMV Point System

This state enlists a point system to monitor and penalize driving infractions. If a driver is convicted of traffic law violations, the driver will gain points on their drivers license. If those points reach a state specified amount, their license will be suspended for a predetermined period based on the amount of points gained.

Below is a list of violations and their corresponding point values:

The following violations add 3 points:

  • Failure to stop for siren
  • No liability insurance
  • Running through stop sign
  • Speeding more than 55 mph

The following violations add 4 points:

  • Failure to yield right-of-way to pedestrian
  • Reckless driving
  • Hit and run, property damage only

The following violations add 5 points:

  • Passing a stopped school bus
  • Aggressive driving

The suspension penalties for point accruement are as follows:

1st offense
12 points within 3 years = 60 days

2nd offense
8 points within 3 years = 6 months

3rd offense
8 points within 3 years = 1 year

Disclaimer is in no way offering legal advice to consumers. Although we update our information regularly, and attempt to be as accurate as possible, state laws may change and we are not liable for any misinformation resulting in legal action or otherwise.

forbes palm beach post yahoo! npib yef