North Dakota Auto Insurance

divider
State Insurance Requirements

All registered or operated vehicles must be covered by liability insurance, Personal Injury Protection(PIP) and Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM). The Minimum amount of liability coverage required by the state of North Dakota is $25,000 for injury, $50,000 for all injury, and $25,000 in property damage. Commonly referred to as 25/50/25 coverage.

In addition to liability you are required to carry Personal Injury Protection, also known as PIP, with the minimum coverage of $30,000.

Uninsured motorist minimum coverage is 25/50, or $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
You are required to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle.

The list below constitute legal proof of insurance:

  • A temporary insurance card issued by the insurer
  • Permanent Insurance Card
If a driver is involved in an accident without insurance, their license is automatically suspended. Failing to provide proof of insurance during a traffic stop results in a $150 fine.
DMV Point System

This state enlists a point system to monitor and penalize driving infractions. If a driver is convicted of traffic law violations, the driver will gain points on their drivers license. If those points reach a state specified amount, their license will be suspended for a predetermined period based on the amount of points gained.

Below is a list of violations and their corresponding point values:

SPEEDING TICKETS

Posted limit Below 70

  • 11-15 mph over – 1 point
  • 16 – 20 mph over – 3 points
  • 21 – 25 mph over – 5 points
  • 26 – 35 mph over – 9 points
  • 36 – 45 mph over – 12 points
  • 46 mph plus over – 15 points

Posted Limit is 70+

  • 11-15 mph over – 3 point
  • 16 – 20 mph over – 5 points
  • 21 – 25 mph over – 7 points
  • 26 – 30 mph over – 10 points
  • 31 – 35 mph over – 12 points
  • 36 mph plus over – 15 points

Additional violations/infractions:

  • Operator/Responsible party failing to provide child restraint device. – 1 points
  • Failing to display license plates – 1 point
  • Unlawful parking in specified prohibited places – 1 point
  • Leaving motor vehicle improperly unattended on an open highway – 1 point
  • Opening or leaving motor vehicle doors open when unsafe to do so – 1 point
  • Failing to dim head lamps – 1 point
  • Violating hazardous material regulations – 2 points
  • Knowingly operating an unsafe vehicle – 2 points
  • Improperly operating or unlawfully carrying on a motorcycle – 2 points
  • Improperly operating  a motorcycle in laned traffic – 2 points
  • Carrying a passenger on a motorcycle not equipped with passenger footrests – 2 points
  • Operating a motor cycle without protective headgear – 2 points
  • Permitting unauthorized minor or person to drive – 2 points
  • Driving in Violation of the Conditions of an Instruction Permit – 2 points
  • Unlawful stopping, standing, or parking on an open highway – 2 points
  • Causing accident w/emergency vehicle – 2 points
  • Knowingly driving with defective, non-existent or unlawful equipment – 2 points
  • Knowingly driving with defective brakes – 2 points
  • Disregarding lawful command of police officer – 2 points
  • Overtaking where prohibited or unlawful. – 2 points
  • Driving on wrong side of road – 2 points
  • Failing to yield right-of-way – 2 points
  • Failing to use care required – 2 points
  • Disobeying traffic control signals – 2 points
  • Failing to yield-right-of-way to funeral procession – 2 points
  • Knowingly driving illegally modified vehicle – 2 points
  • Open container (Driver) – 2 points
  • Exhibition driving – 3 points
  • Violating corrective lens restriction – 3 points
  • Failing to stop at RR crossing – 3 points
  • Violating or exceeding restriction contained in a restricted certificate or license or Instructional Permit – 4 points
  • Clinging to other vehicle while riding a motorcycle – 4 points
  • Operating a motor vehicle without a license – 4 points
  • Overtaking a school bus – 6 points
  • Failing to give immediate notice of accident – 6 points
  • Careless driving (Basic Rule) – 6 points
  • No liability insurance – 6, 12, or 14 points
  • Reckless driving – 8 points
  • Racing in a motor vehicle – 10 points
  • Aggravated reckless driving – 12 points
  • Leaving the scene of accident involving property damage – 14 points
  • Leaving the scene of accident involving injury or death – 18 points
  • Fleeing from law enforcement officer in a motor vehicle – 24 points
The state of North Dakota Suspends driver’s license for 7 days per each point over 11. (Example 13 points results in a 14 day suspension.)

If a driver is under the age of 18 and accumulates 6 points, their license is considered canceled, and must be reapplied for upon reaching 18 years old.

Disclaimer

AutoCricket.com is in no way offering legal advice to consumers. Although we update our information regularly, and attempt to be as accurate as possible, state laws may change and we are not liable for any misinformation resulting in legal action or otherwise.

forbes palm beach post yahoo! npib yef