Ohio Auto Insurance

State Insurance Requirements

All registered or operated vehicles must be covered by liability insurance. Minimum coverages for the state of Ohio are $12,500 personal injury, $25,000 for all injury and $7,500 in property damage.

You are required to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle.

The list below constitute legal proof of insurance:

  • A temporary insurance card issued by the insurer
  • Permanent Insurance Card
  • Policy Declaration Page
  • The actual liability insurance policy issued for the vehicle
  • A certificate of liability insurance policy issued by either the insurer or an authorized agent
  • A copy of the rental agreement when renting a motor vehicle which specifies the insurance coverage
The state of Ohio also has a random selection program for verification of insurance. At any time the Ohio BMV may require you to submit official proof of insurance coverage. Failure to do so results in a 90 day suspension the first time, 1 year the second time, and 2 years for a third offense.
DMV Point System

This state enlists a point system to monitor and penalize driving infractions. If a driver is convicted of traffic law violations, the driver will gain points on their drivers license. If those points reach a state specified amount, their license will be suspended for a predetermined period based on the amount of points gained.

Below is a list of violations and their corresponding point values:


Posted below 55:

  • 6-10 mph over – 2 points
  • 11-29 mph over – 2 points
  • 30 mph over – 4 points

Posted above 55:

  • 6-10 mph over – 0 points
  • 11-29 mph over – 2 points
  • 30 mph over – 4 points

The following violations are worth 6 points:

  • Homicide by vehicle
  • Operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or any drug of abuse
  • Failure to stop and disclose identity at the scene of a crash
  • Willingly fleeing or eluding a law enforcement officer
  • Drag racing
  • Operating a motor vehicle without owner consent
  • Operating a motor vehicle while your license is under
  • suspension or revocation
  • Using a motor vehicle in the commission of a felony, or committing any crime punishable as a felony under Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws

The majority of less serious violations are between 2-4 points.

Willful or wanton disregard of the safety of persons or property – 4 points

All moving violations except those pertaining to size limits – 2 points
and some speed offenses

Operating a motor vehicle in violation of a restriction – 2 points

Accumulating 12 points within a 2 year period will cause your license to be suspended for 6 months. If caught operating a motor vehicle while suspended, the driver faces $1000 fine, and/or 6 months jail time.


AutoCricket.com is in no way offering legal advice to consumers. Although we update our information regularly, and attempt to be as accurate as possible, state laws may change and we are not liable for any misinformation resulting in legal action or otherwise.

forbes palm beach post yahoo! npib yef