Oregon Auto Insurance

divider
State Insurance Requirements

All registered or operated vehicles must be covered by liability insurance, Personal Injury Protection(PIP) and Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM). The Minimum amount of liability coverage required by the state of Oregon is $25,000 for injury, $50,000 for all injury, and $20,000 in property damage. Commonly referred to as 25/50/20 coverage.

In addition to liability you are required to carry Personal Injury Protection, also known as PIP, with the minimum coverage of $15,000.

Uninsured motorist minimum coverage is 25/50, or $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.

You are required to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle.

The list below constitute legal proof of insurance:

  • A temporary insurance card issued by the insurer
  • Permanent Insurance Card
Failure to provide proof of insurance will result in fines, license suspension, or vehicle impoundment. If a driver is convicted of driving uninsured they will have to show poof every year for 3 years to the dmv or face additional fines.
DMV Point System

This state does not enlist a point system for monitoring or penalizing traffic violations. However, your driving record is still maintained and made available to employers, other states and insurance companies. Habitual traffic violations may still increase your insurance rates.

In addition to an increase in insurance rates, many serious violations may result in a license suspension or revocation.

Disclaimer

AutoCricket.com is in no way offering legal advice to consumers. Although we update our information regularly, and attempt to be as accurate as possible, state laws may change and we are not liable for any misinformation resulting in legal action or otherwise.

forbes palm beach post yahoo! npib yef