Pennsylvania Auto Insurance

State Insurance Requirements

All registered or operated vehicles must be covered by liability insurance. Minimum coverages for the state of Pennsylvania are $15,000 personal injury, $30,000 for all injury and $5,000 in property damage. Commonly referred to as 15/30/5 coverage.

You are required to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle.

The list below constitute legal proof of insurance:

  • A temporary insurance card issued by the insurer
  • Permanent Insurance Card
  • Policy Declaration Page
  • The actual liability insurance policy issued for the vehicle
  • A certificate of liability insurance policy issued by either the insurer or an authorized agent
  • A copy of the rental agreement when renting a motor vehicle which specifies the insurance coverage
DMV Point System

This state enlists a point system to monitor and penalize driving infractions. If a driver is convicted of traffic law violations, the driver will gain points on their drivers license. If those points reach a state specified amount, their license will be suspended for a predetermined period based on the amount of points gained.

Below is a list of violations and their corresponding point values:


  • 6-10 mph over – 2 points
  • 11-15 mph over – 3 points
  • 16-25 mph over – 4 points
  • 26-30 mph over – 5 points
  • 31+ mph over – 5 points (Automatic suspension hearing* more below)
  • Speeding in an active work zone – 15 day suspension
  • Speeding in a school zone – 3 points

Additional violations/infractions:

  • Violation of restriction on driver’s license – wearing glasses – 2 points
  • Failure to obey authorized persons directing traffic – 3 points
  • Failure to stop for a red light – 2 point
  • Failure to stop for a flashing red light – 3 points
  • Failure to yield half of roadway to oncoming vehicle – 3 points
  • Improper passing, overtaken driver to maintain speed – 3 points
  • Improper passing on the right – 3 points
  • Improper passing on the left, clear distance ahead – 3 points
  • Improper passing on a hill – 4 points
  • Improper passing at a railroad crossing or intersection – 3 points
  • Improper passing at a bridge or tunnel – 3 points
  • Improper passing in a no-passing zone – 3 points
  • Following too closely- 3 points
  • Failure to yield to driver on the right at intersection – 3 points
  • Failure to yield to oncoming driver when making left turn – 3 points
  • Failure to stop for stop sign – 3 points
  • Failure to yield at yield sign – 3 points
  • Failure to yield when entering or crossing roadway between intersections – 3 points
  • Improper turning around – illegal U-turns – 3 points
  • Failure to obey signal indicating approach of train – 2 points
  • Failure to comply with crossing gate or barrier (30-day suspension) – 4 points
  • Failure to stop at railroad crossings – 4 points
  • Failure to stop when entering from alley, driveway or building – 4 points
  • Failure to stop for school bus with flashing red lights 60-day suspension – 3 points
  • Driving too fast for conditions – 2 points
    (conjunction with an accident, 15-day suspension)
  • Failure to yield to pedestrian in crosswalk – 2 points
  • Failure to yield to pedestrian on sidewalk when entering from a driveway – 3 points
  • Failure to yield to blind pedestrians – 3 points
  • Improper backing – 3 points
  • Careless driving – 3 points
  • Leaving scene of accident involving property damage only – 4 points
If a driver accumulates 6 points, the first time they have 30 days to complete and pass a driver re-education exam. If they fail to complete the course in 30 days they face suspension until the exam is passed.

The second offense, or accumulation of 6 points, the driver must attend a hearing and faces 15 suspension and possible traffic school. Failure to attend the hearing results in a 60 day suspension.

Third offense of 6 point accumulation results in a hearing and the driver faces a 30 day suspension. Failure to attend the hearing results in suspension until the hearing is attended.

Accumulation of 11 points results in an automatic suspension for a duration based on the number of points and the number of offenses as follows:

  • First Suspension – 5 days per point

  • Second Suspension – 10 days per point
  • Third Suspension – 15 days per point
  • Subsequent Suspensions – One year

Disclaimer is in no way offering legal advice to consumers. Although we update our information regularly, and attempt to be as accurate as possible, state laws may change and we are not liable for any misinformation resulting in legal action or otherwise.

forbes palm beach post yahoo! npib yef