Texas Auto Insurance

divider
State Insurance Requirements

All registered or operated vehicles must be covered by liability insurance. The Minimum amounts of liability coverage required by the state of Texas are $30,000/$60,000 for injury/death and $25,000 for property damage. Commonly referred to as 30/60/25 coverage.

You are required to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle.

The list below constitute legal proof of insurance:

  • A temporary insurance card issued by the insurer
  • Permanent Insurance Card
  • Policy Declaration Page
  • The actual liability insurance policy issued for the vehicle
  • A certificate of liability insurance policy issued by either the insurer or an authorized agent
  • A copy of the rental agreement when renting a motor vehicle which specifies the insurance coverage
Failure to provide proof of auto insurance in the event of an accident or during a traffic stop will result in in a fine from $175 up to $350 for the first offense. If stopped again without proof of insurance you will face a $1000 fine, vehicle impoundment, and a suspended license.
DMV Point System

This state enlists a point system to monitor and penalize driving infractions. If a driver is convicted of traffic law violations, the driver will gain points on their drivers license. In the state of texas points assessed are used to determine annual surcharges.

If a driver has 6 or more points within a 12 month period they are required to pay surcharge fee’s in order to keep their driving privileges.

Penalty surcharges start at $50 and can range into the thousands. We strongly recommend you review the surcharge program in depth by clicking the link below.

Disclaimer

AutoCricket.com is in no way offering legal advice to consumers. Although we update our information regularly, and attempt to be as accurate as possible, state laws may change and we are not liable for any misinformation resulting in legal action or otherwise.

forbes palm beach post yahoo! npib yef