All registered or operated vehicles must be covered by liability insurance. The Minimum amount of liability coverage required by the state of Virginia is $25,000 for injury, $50,000 for all injuries, and $20,000 in property damage. Commonly referred to as 25/50/20 coverage.
Unlike most states, Virginia offers motorists the option to drive uninsured. To qualify as an uninsured motorist the driver must pay $500 fee annually and at time of registration, to the DMV.
This state enlists a point system to monitor and penalize driving infractions. If a driver is convicted of traffic law violations, the driver will gain points on their drivers license. If those points reach a state specified amount, their license will be suspended for a predetermined period based on the amount of points gained. Points lose their value for suspension purposes after 2 years, but remain on your driving history and can potentially raise insurance rates.
Some 6 point violations include but are not limited to:
Some 4 point violations include but are not limited to:
Some 3 point violations include but are not limited to:
The list of violations is extensive. Please visit the link below for a complete comprehensive list of any and all violations and their respective point totals.
AutoCricket.com is in no way offering legal advice to consumers. Although we update our information regularly, and attempt to be as accurate as possible, state laws may change and we are not liable for any misinformation resulting in legal action or otherwise.