Wisconsin Auto Insurance

State Insurance Requirements

All registered or operated vehicles must be covered by liability insurance. The Minimum amount of liability coverage required by the state of Wisconsin is $15,000 for injury, $50,000 for all injuries, and $100,000 in property damage. Commonly referred to as 15/50/100 coverage.

You are required to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle.

The list below constitute legal proof of insurance:

  • A temporary insurance card issued by the insurer
  • Permanent Insurance Card
  • Policy Declaration Page
  • A letter from your auto insurance company (on company letterhead) that verifies your auto insurance coverage
Failure to provide proof of insurance will result in a citation. Operating an uninsured motor vehicle, if convicted, results in up to a $500 fine.
DMV Point System

This state enlists a point system to monitor and penalize driving infractions. If a driver is convicted of traffic law violations, the driver will gain points on their drivers license. If those points reach a state specified amount, their license will be suspended for a predetermined period based on the amount of points gained.

Below SOME EXAMPLES of violations and their corresponding point values:

  • Attempting to elude an officer – 6 points
  • Failure to perform duty after accident – 6 points
  • Operating while revoked or suspended – 3 points
  • Operating under the influence of intoxicant or drugs – 6 points
  • Reckless driving or racing – 6 points
  • Speeding 20 mph or more over limit – 6 points
  • Violation of occupational license – 6 points
  • Deviating from traffic lane – 4 points
  • Driving on wrong side of highway or street – 4 points
  • Failure to yield right of way – 4 points
  • Failure to yield to emergency vehicle – 4 points
  • Imprudent driving, too fast for conditions, failure to have vehicle under control 4 points Inattentive driving – 4 points
  • Failure by operator to stop for school bus when red lights are flashing – 4 points
  • Speeding 11 through 19 mph over limit – 4 points
  • Unnecessary acceleration – 4 points
  • Arterial or traffic control violation – 3 points
  • Driving wrong way on one way street – 3 points
  • Failure to dim lights – 3 points
  • Failure to give proper signal – 3 points
  • Following too closely – 3 points
  • Illegal passing – 3 points
  • Improper brakes or lights – 3 points
  • Operating with expired license or without any license – 3 points
  • Operating with multiple licenses – 3 points
  • Prohibited or illegal turn – 3 points
  • Speeding 1 through 10 mph over limit – 3 points
  • Violation of restriction – 3 points
  • Obstructing traffic – 2 points
  • Parking on highway in traffic lane, defective speedometer – 2 points
If a driver obtains 12 points within a 1 year period, their license will be suspended for a minimum of 2 months.
For a complete list of penalties, violations and points, and suspension/reinstating information click the link below.

Additional Resource: Wisconsin DMV


AutoCricket.com is in no way offering legal advice to consumers. Although we update our information regularly, and attempt to be as accurate as possible, state laws may change and we are not liable for any misinformation resulting in legal action or otherwise.

forbes palm beach post yahoo! npib yef